Review: The Church: The Gospel Made Visible by Mark Dever

Dever, Mark. The Church: The Gospel Made Visible. Nashville: B&H Publishing Group, 2012.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My church is preparing a month long emphasis on church membership, and I thought this book would be a good read to prepare my mind and heart for this focus. I was not prepared for how richly I would be blessed by reading this book.

Dever examines the doctrine of the church (ecclesiology) in three sections. The first explores what the Bible says about the church. The second brings church history into the discussion. The third pulls together the loose strands and provides some practical application.

Dever is unabashedly Baptist in his understanding of the church, because he is unabashedly driven by Scripture. Along the way the reader will find that many of our problems in churches today stem from our watering down of what the church is called to do, the importance of church membership, the vital place of the Word and right administration of the sacraments in church life.

The book remains accessible for every believer, while providing footnotes that point to great resources for the pastor or leader who would like to dig further on a particular issue.

Do yourself a favor, get this book, read this book, and share this book. It would go a long way toward bringing about revival in our churches if the principles set out in this book were practiced far and wide.

In fact, I enjoyed this book so much that I want to give you a chance to win a copy. I will select one entry at random on Sept 18 (my birthday). Enter below.

